California Adopts Almost Total Ban on Devices While Driving
Tuesday, October 04, 2016By Richard Alexander
It was bound to happen. Governor Brown has signed a bill that further limits the use of hand-held devices while driving
. You see, for some people, it wasn’t enough to know that a typical text removes their focus from driving for five seconds. And it wasn’t enough to know that distracted driving involves all three types of dangerous distraction: cognitive, visual, and manual. That’s why the new law adopts a near complete ban on the use of devices while driving.
California’s new law mandates that devices be mounted in an unobstructive way to either the windshield or the dashboard. Even when properly mounted, the only legally permissible actions are those that require “the motion of a single swipe or tap of the driver’s finger.” The law covers handheld devices, as well as laptops with mobile data access.
The legal penalty is lacking when compared to the tragedies caused by distracted driving . A first offense receives a $20 fine, and subsequent offenses receive a $50 fine. Not much of an incentive for compliance.
But the real cost is to the victims and their families. The loss of human life, abilities, and happiness is catastrophic. Those killed are mothers, fathers, children, aunts, uncles, coworkers, and friends. Distracted driving hurts everyone.
If you or someone you know has been the victim of distracted driving, please contact Alexander Law Group, LLP
immediately to discuss your rights and the legal care that we can provide. Call 888.777.1776 right now, for a free, confidential, and personal consultation with one of our attorneys or contact us